14th Automated Negotiating Agents Competition (ANAC2023)

To be held in London (ExCeL Conference Center), from 29th May to 2nd June 2023 as a part of the AAMAS 2023 competition.



Overview of ANAC2023

The Automated Negotiating Agent Competition (ANAC) is an international tournament that has been running since 2010 to bring together researchers from the negotiation community. ANAC provides a unique benchmark for evaluating practical negotiation strategies in multi-issue domains and has the following aims:

  • to provide an incentive for the development of effective and efficient negotiation protocols and strategies for bidding, accepting and opponent modeling for different negotiation scenarios;
  • to collect and develop a benchmark of negotiation scenarios, protocols and strategies;
  • to develop a common set of tools and criteria for the evaluation and exploration of new protocols and new strategies against benchmark scenarios, protocols and strategies;
  • to set the research agenda for automated negotiation.
The previous competitions have spawned novel research in AI in the field of autonomous agent design which are available to the wider research community.

This year, we introduce a variety of negotiation research challenges:

We expect innovative and novel agent strategies will be developed, and the submitted ANAC 2023 agents will serve as a negotiating agent repository to the negotiation community.

Competition Schedule


Leagues in ANAC2023

Automated Negotiation League

Explore the strategies and difficulties in creating efficient agents whose primary purpose is to ​negotiate with other agent's strategies.​

Supply Chain Management League

Design and build an autonomous agent that negotiates on behalf of a factory manager situated in a supply chain management simulation.


ANAC2023 Program

14:00-16:30 on Thursday, 1st of June 2023 @South Gallery 10

  • Opening
  • SCML overview + Winner presentation
  • ANL overview + Winner presentation
  • Discussion for next year

The session in each league will be include:

  • Introduction, rules and challenge
  • Overall results and award ceremony
  • Further analysis, agent strategies and insights
  • Specific talk e.g. by top finalists
  • Challenge for next year



You can find the winners for each league.

Automated Negotiation League

[Individual Utility]

  1. ExploitAgent – Bram Renting (Leiden University, Delft University of Technology)
  2. MiCRO2023 - Dave de Jonge (IIIA-CSIC)
[Social Welfare]
  1. AntHeartAgent - Kaiyou Lei, Qiuhui Shi, Daqian Li, Qisong Sun, Hang Liu (Ant Group)
  2. SmartAgent - Jianing Zhao, Zili Zhang, Wen Zhang, HouYong He (Southwest University)

Supply Chain Management League

[Oneshot Track]

  1. QuantityOrientedAgent - Pedro Hrosz Turini and Jaime Sichman (University of Sao Paulo)
  2. CCAgent - Shota Kimata and Yuko Sakurai (Nagoya Institute of Technology)
  3. KanbeAgent Masato Kijima (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
[Standard Track]
  1. AgentSDH - Atsunaga Sadahiro (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
[Collusion Track]
  1. M5 - Kazuki Komori (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)



NEC-AIST AI Cooperative Research Laboratory

Intent Exchange

Artificial Intelligence Journal



ANAC Board Members

  • Dr. Reyhan Aydogan (Ozyegin University & Delft University of Technology)
  • Dr. Tim Baarslag (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI))
  • Dr. Katsuhide Fujita (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
  • Prof. Dr. Catholijn Jonker (Delft University of Technology)

League Organizers

  • Automated Agents League: Mehmet Onur Keskin (Ozyegin University) and ANAC Board Members.
  • Supply Chain Management League: Dr. Yasser Mohammad, Shinji Nakadai; Dr. Satoshi Morinaga (NEC, AIST); Prof. Dr. Amy Greenwald, Dr. Enrique Areyan Viqueir (Brown University); Dr. Mark Klein (MIT)

Scholarship Chair in ANAC2023

  • Dr. Yasser Mohammad (NEC, AIST)

Sponsorship Chair in ANAC2023

  • Dr. Johnathan Mell (The University of Central Florida)
  • Prof. Dr. Takayuki Ito (Kyoto University)

Scientific Advisory Board

  • Prof. Dr. Catholijn Jonker (Delft University of Technology) (Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Takayuki Ito (Kyoto University)
  • Prof. Dr. Carles Sierra (IIIA/CSIC)
  • Prof. Dr. Jonathan Gratch (USC)



For any questions of ANAC2023, the main contact is Dr. Reyhan Aydogan reyhan.aydogan[at]ozyegin.edu.tr